Day 1

Posted: February 20, 2012 in Gym, Nutrition
Tags: , , , , , ,

20120220-150158.jpg

Stats:
55kg
23.5% Bodyfat

So here I am… Blogging about my journey to gettin a little bit fitter and leaner. I’m not hard core so I would like to reduce my body fat to 17% FIRST. I wouldn’t say I have a time frame, but I think 2 months? Let’s see! Just ordered my pre, post and recovery shakes so for now, I make do with whatever I have. It’s the same, but I just wanted to add more stuff into my routine like creatine and BCAAs. I do take amino chews before and after my workouts which are really yummy!

It’s been a long time. My back surgery has put me off for approx 1 year of physical activity due to the relapse some time during the 7th month. Prior to that, I couldn’t workout hard as my back was constantly giving me problems. So here goes!

For those who read this blog, I hope you’ll support me in whatever I do and if you want to embark on the same journey, what are you waiting for?

Here’s a rough outline… Remember, I am not a qualified trainer or professional lifter. What I do are within my limits and do practice correct technique and posture. If unsure, ask a professional trainer. AND stretch (dynamic / static) wisely before and after workouts and don’t forget to do your FOAM ROLL.

Warm up: 3 sets
One leg front and back squats
Plank walks

Workout: 3 sets
1 arm chest press L&R
DB rotate press ups
DB L lift
Wood chopper L&R
One arm push ups (raised)
Leg lift crunch, pull ups

Abs: Till failure… About 15 for me.
Corkscrew
Side twist with 6kg
Figure 8

Finish off with semi-handstand push ups 3 x 3 sets, just for fun!

Ok, onto the foods

Diet:
AM: Bowl of Oat Mix (gluten free) with 1/2 cup yogurt, 1/2 cup milk and scoop of protein.

Post workout: Sunrider NuPlus (high fiber w carbs and very nutritious) + whey + egg white

Snack: peanut butter + brown rice toast

TACFIT: 20 min session – conditioning

Dinner: Stir fry chicken breast + veg (Brussel sprouts, peppers, shrooms, pine nuts)

Snack: milk + fruit

Do note that I am not counting calories here or limiting portions. I eat what I need to fill me up and fuel my muscles. Coconut oil and olive oil are my main sources of fat in this diet and no issues to have rice or wheat toast as carbs.
Carbs are not enemies. You need them.

Leave a Reply

